Hero Overlay
South-West SPA

South-West Strategic Planning Area (SPA)

The Regional Assembly, has ten constituent local authorities split into three Strategic Planning Areas. They are namely:

South-East Region Carlow, Tipperary, Waterford City and County, Wexford, Kilkenny
South-West Region Cork City and County, Kerry
Mid-West Region Clare, Limerick City and County, Tipperary

Note: Special arrangements for Tipperary

The former North Tipperary forms part of the Mid-West NUTS III area while the former South Tipperary is in the South-East NUTS III area. The unified county is fully incorporated in Southern Assembly region. Arising from the strong linkage between the northern part of the county and Limerick and between the southern part and Waterford, the 3 Tipperary assembly members will be members of both the Mid-West and South-East Strategic Planning Areas (SPAs).